This is a view of Shell House, located at Collyer Quay. There is an overhead bridge in the foreground. Photograph donated by Chung Shui Ken and displayed at the Heritage Roadshow 2008. HRS3_636. Title devised by Library staff.
Bus from the Green Bus Company, passing through the Arch at the entrance of the Old Nantah Campus. Donated by Chung Shui Ken and displayed at the Heritage Roadshow 2008. HRS3_640...
Children riding on swings, in the playground at King George V Jubilee Park at Fort Canning, bounded by Clemenceau Avenue and River Valley Road. Donated by Chung Shui Ken and displayed at the Heritage Roadshow 2008. HRS3_642...
General view of Cathay Building, located at Handy Road, started operations in 1939. It housed Singapore’s first air-conditioned cinema, apartments, a restaurant and a hotel. It closed in 2000 for re-development. It is now known as 'The Cathay'. Donated by Chung Shui Ken and displayed at the Heritage Roadshow 2008....
This is a photograph of Kallang Airport, also known as the Kallang Aerodrome, Kallang Airfield and RAF Kallang, functioned as an airport from 1937 to 1955. A Chinese couple is standing outside the terminal building of the Kallang Airport, presently the headquarters of the People's Association. Photograph donated by Chung...
Aerial view of Monk's Hill School near the Newton area, established in 1958. It was relocated to Winstedt Road in 1993, and merged with Balestier Hill Secondary School in 2007. Photograph donated by Chung Shui Ken and displayed at the Heritage Roadshow 2008. HRS3_633...
Paya Lebar Airport was opened on 20 August 1955. Presently, it serves as a military airbase under the Singapore Air Force. Photograph donated by Chung Shui Ken and displayed at the Heritage Roadshow 2008. HRS3_635...
A group of people, ferried in a bumboat, from Clifford Pier. In the early days, bumboats were extensively used for transportation of goods and also for ferrying people along the Singapore River, Rochore, Kallang Rivers and various off-shore islands. A bumboat is also known as 'Tongkang' in Malay and 'Twakow'...
This is a photograph of the entrance of Great World Amusement Park, located at Kim Seng Road. It closed in 1964. It was also known as Tua Sei Kai in Hokkien. Presently, this site is occupied by Great World City Shopping Centre. Photograph donated by Chung Shui Ken and displayed...
Mother of Michael, posing for a photograph at Collyer Quay, with bumboats in the background, near the river bank. Donated by Tan Yong Heng Michael and displayed at the Heritage Roadshow 2008. HRS3_685...
Mother of Michael, posing for a photograph at Collyer Quay. In the background is the Merlion, standing guard at the mouth of the Singapore River at Merlion Park. Presently it is located adjacent to One Fullerton. Donated by Tan Yong Heng Michael and displayed at the Heritage Roadshow 2008. HRS3_684...